WNLR Scholarship Program

The Wednesday Night Laundry Runners have instituted a scholarship program to reward outstanding high school distance runners. The purpose of the program is to recognize local excellence in athletic and academic achievement, commitment to community and to help our Monterey County student-athletes achieve broader success. Nominated by their coaches, these awards help ease some of the financial burdens of college.

The WNLR Scholarship Program, founded by Mike Dove in 2001, started modestly with a few thousand dollars in the first few years. Today, the annual fund raises anywhere from $8,000 - $12,000 and has awarded a total of $124,500 to 117 students since its inception.

Donations to the scholarship fund are from individual WNLR members, private donations, and a generous donation from the Big Sur International Marathon. If you would like to donate, please make your check out to WNLR and write "scholarship fund" in the notes. Send to:

Mark Eccles
P.O. Box 221462
Carmel, CA 93922

Qualifications for each nominee are the following:

All student runners must be nominated by their high school coaches.

  • Must be a Monterey County high school senior distance runner
  • Must compete in BOTH cross country and distance track and field (800,1600, and/or 3200)
  • The student must plan to compete in a two or four-year college. (exceptions may apply)
  • Loves running
  • Team leader and role model
  • Successful high school runner in competition
  • High academic achievement (Minimum GPA is 3.0.)
  • Participate in extracurricular activities
  • Family monetary need is considered

2017 Summary of Award Recipients: (download PDF summary)

Jesus Avalos – King City High School – King City, CA
Kayla Clayton – Salinas High School – Salinas, CA
Alfredo Mejia – Salinas High School – Salinas, CA
Evelin Meza – Greenfield High School – Greenfield, CA
Roman Muñoz – King City High School – King City, CA
Isaias Rodriguez – Seaside High School – Seaside, CA
Jorge Rodriguez – Alisal High School – Salinas, CA
Anna Stefanou – Pacific Grove High School – Pacific Grove, CA

Current Scholarship Program committee members:

Emily Cole
Mike Dove
Erin Golec
Rod Mackinlay
Patie McCracken
Cath Tendler-Valencia
Susan Walkup